Benevento is a province of Campania established in 1860 with the Garibaldi decree.
The original province was composed of three Circondari: Circondario di Benevento, Circondario di Cerreto Sannita and Circondario di San Bartolomeo in Galdo.

Geographically, the province is located south of Molise, west of Apulia, north of the province of Avellino and east of the province of Caserta. The province currently consists of 78 municipalities.

The area is mostly characterised by mountainous territory with an altitude ranging from 44 metres to 1822 metres (Mount Mutria).
The main rivers located in this area are: the Calore Irpino and the Volturno, the Sabato and the Ufita, the Fortore, the Isclero and the Titerno.
The climate is characterised by cold winters, hot summers and significant rainfall in autumn.

The economy is essentially based on agriculture and the food, wood, textile and clothing industries. The tourism sector is developing strongly, particularly in the municipalities of Cerreto Sannita, Pietrelcina, Cautano and Guardia Sanframondi.

The area can be reached by several rail and road lines, such as:

  • Railway lines: Naples – Foggia, Benevento – Avellino, Benevento – Cancello and Benevento – Campobasso.
  • Most important road lines: motorway junction 9, state road 7 Via Appia, state road 87 Sannitica, state road 88 dei Due Principati, state road 212 della Val Fortore and state road 372 Telesina.